Makeover Monday – Credit Card

For this week’s Makeover Monday we’re working with credit card transactions!

Here’s our starting point:

AMEX Category Summary - CopyAMEX Monthly Summary - Copy

My goal was to create a visual that would help me understand my own credit card statement. For my own needs I would like to see my overall spending, categorical spending, and vendor level spending month by month. I also want to see a part-to-whole view of categories annually and by month. Ideally there would be several views that flow really nicely using intuitive actions and filters. That’s a pretty lofty goal, and my final product definitely falls short for now. I use Mint to track my spending, and working on this makeover made me appreciate their nice visuals a lot more! In fact, I think the Trends section of the website (not mobile!) is pretty much perfect.

Here’s the makeover:

Amex Makeover 1 - CopyAmex Makeover 2 - Copy

Go here for the interactive version.

After starting work, I realized that my preferred views could be grouped into categorical and monthly. By creating the two views, and then linking them with a bunch of dashboard actions I was able to show most of the desired views. I added a map with date on page because I wanted to work with the page feature. I kept it because it’s fun to use Andy’s purchases to watch his travels!

Continuous vs Discrete gave me a real headache this week! I started using discrete months, which make more sense for this data. The labels and size/spacing were perfect.

Amex - Discrete 1 - Copy

…But when filtered, months went missing.

Amex - Discrete Filtered - Copy

We might be able to correct this with a cross join (null or zero spend default for each category/month combination) but it feels strange that I couldn’t find a “include null axis values” setting. So, we’re stuck with continuous for now. Maybe I’ll revisit this if I have time in the future.

 

 

Leave a Reply

